outlook

I just deleted the paragraph I initially thought should lead into this. It was just blather holding off the inevitable. It’s best just to run headfirst and full speed into an image like this:

I found Karyn’s image, set twelve years ago in Canyonlands, as I was working through photos for other projects and presentations, and this one in particular kicked me in that soft spot right under the ribs. There we are, me trying to frame a photo and the girls there just as I know them and just as they are not. Vastness of horizon and deep cuts in Earth pair with the foreboding, encroaching ceiling. The Colorado River has patiently removed all the land beneath us, one grain at a time, having all the time in the world. We get to experience this outlook: here is the immensity of time and space, even as it etches away imperceptibly.

I just deleted the paragraph I initially thought should conclude this. All I have is just the image of the subtle, slow trawl of geological time and the whiplash blink of an eye, together in the same frame.

Leave a comment