egg joke

Karyn was showing Grace good technique for frying an egg, emphasizing that it’s important to create the right conditions “to set up the yolk.”

From the adjoining room, I advised:

It’s important to set up the yolk just right so that you can deliver the punch line.

There was grimace and appreciation and restricted laughing in the kitchen. I walked in looking for acknowledgment of how “meta” my line was, that it was both example and instruction at the same time.

I received no praise for my genius.

I insisted, though. “I thought my joke was egg-cellent.”

Leave a Reply

