optimism

For now, my optimism is directly proportional to coffee intake. I just need to sustain that.

Yesterday, I got my hair cut in a quiet corner barbershop in an old historic building in the old historic section of town. The barber used a straight razor on my neck, cleanly shaving out the errors of my genetics and the random distribution of hair that extends from my head to my back. Someone else was fixing everything, just making what was wrong, right. A warm towel on my head and a splattering of some cool fluid sealed it all in for the moment.

I think I medicate with ongoing doses of dark caffeine and occasional shots of warm towels, long trail runs and 15-minute naps. It’s that time in the semester when I struggle with the too much to do and the inadequacy to catch up. I’ll drink more coffee and see how much redemption I can eek out of the semester.

Leave a Reply

