both shall row

The water is wide, I can’t cross over.

And neither have I wings to fly.

Build me a boat that can carry two

And both shall row, my love and I.

(Traditional)

I was flashing back on this verse yesterday, lines from an old song whose words were printed on invitations for a wedding, 20 years ago to the day.

When I look back on who we were when we met, when we courted, and even when we were married, I think we were young, naïve, maybe even slightly ignorant, maybe even foolish. There were so many possible lines we could have had on an invitation that I would have looked back upon and confirmed the naïveté, the ignorance, the foolishness. But these lines were just right, even more now than they were then. There are no secrets or magic. We’ve just rowed through it all, back and forth, together, and I think we’ll just keep doing the same.

Leave a Reply

