a list of words I wish I understood

Some words are just on some cusp of almost-understood for me, some zone of proximal verbal development. If you say the word in context, I kind of understand it, and I like the word so much that I’d like to be able to use it myself more often. I just don’t get them well enough to spit them out, and sometimes I’m not even sure how to pronounce them. These words include:

  • glib
  • solipsism
  • fortuitous
  • recondite
  • taciturn
  • munificent
  • indolent
  • banal
  • sagacious
  • incipient
  • salacious
  • tenebrous

Tomorrow I leave on a science and writing workshop. As I’m a co-leader, it seems that I should try to put some of these words to good use. And others as well. But perhaps I’ll just be using words like “spaghetti,” “windy,” and “tent stake.”

And there are other words that I can use just fine, but I still don’t understand them. These include things like:

  • cholesterol
  • menstrual
  • subduction zone
  • wave function [even though I teach it]
  • condensation [also, even though I teach it]
  • carburetor
  • learn
  • love
  • life
Posted in UncategorizedTagged

One thought on “a list of words I wish I understood

Leave a Reply

